



09 May 2018

IOTC CIRCULAR

2018-22

Dear Sir/Madam

COMMUNICATION FROM MALDIVES AND SOUTH AFRICA ON THE ELECTION OF THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE INDIAN OCEAN TUNA COMMISSION

Please find attached a communication from Maldives and South Africa regarding the election of the Chairperson of the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission.

Yours sincerely

Christopher O'Brien Executive Secretary

Attachments:

• Letter from Maldives and South Africa

Distribution

IOTC Contracting Parties: Australia, China, Comoros, Eritrea, European Union, France (Territories), Guinea, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Rep of), Japan, Kenya, Rep. of Korea, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, United Rep. of Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom (OT), Yemen. Cooperating Non-Contracting Parties: Bangladesh, Liberia, Senegal. Intergovernmental Organisations, Non-Governmental Organisations. Chairperson IOTC. Copy to: FAO Headquarters, FAO Representatives to CPCs. This message has been transmitted by email only Economic Prosperity - Social Harmony



Ministry of Fisheries and Agriculture Male', Republic of Maldives

Ref No: 30-D/PRIV/ 2018/207

ويرسفهم مذقر وسنبرع مشه مددير توعير مركو، مركور مركزت

30 April 2018

Dr. Chris O-Brien, IOTC Executive Secretary Indian Ocean Tuna Commission Le Chantier Mall, Victorica, Mahe, Seychelles

Dear Mr. O'Brien,

Recalling the letter of resignation received from the IOTC Chairperson, dated 15 December 2017 and communicated via IOTC Circular 2017-093, and in accordance with para. 1 of Rule VII of the IOTC Rules of Procedure (2014), which states:

"Pursuant to Article VI.6 of the Agreement, the Commission shall, at the end of its regular Session in each alternate year or sooner if an office falls vacant, elect its Chairperson and no more than two Vice-Chairpersons, who shall hold office until their successors are elected." we would like to nominate and second Ms. Susan Imende Ungadi, Director General of Kenya Fisheries Service as the Chairperson of the Commission for the next biennium.

Noting that the Commission currently does not have an elected Chairperson, we expect the election to occur at the commencement of the 22nd Session of the IOTC to commence on 21 May 2018, under agenda item 1.

Please share this letter of nomination and second, to all CPCs via an IOTC Circular.

Sincerely,

Nomination: Dr. M. Shiham Adam, Maldives Head of Delegation

Yhshirl

Second.

Ms. Siphokazi Ndudane, South Africa Head of Delegation

Velaanaage, 7th Floor	*	فترترى 7 تيتر ترترويري		
Ameeru Ahmed Magu, Male', 20096, Republic of Maldíves			تروش ترترقت قرف الخرف 20096 موفور شرشيغ	
(+960) 332 2625	🚔 (+960) 332 6558	🕜 www.fishagri.gov.mV	🔀 admin@fishagri.gov.uv	😼 fishagri